GORDON JACKSON – Thinking Back

Gordon Jackson Thinking Back cover

1. The Journey
2. My Ship, My Star
3. Me And My Dog
4. Song For Freedom
5. Sing To Me Woman
6. When You Are Small
7. Snakes And Ladders
8. A Day At The Cottage (non-album B-side)
9. My Ship, My Star (demo)
10. Song For Freedom (single mix)
11. Sing To Me Woman (single mix)
12. Me And My Dog (long version)


Pasted Graphic 17
Gordon Jackson’s rare 1969 album can almost be called a lost Traffic LP. Produced by Dave Mason, it features the talents of Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi, Dave Mason and Chris Wood, alongside Jim King and Ric Grech (Family), Poli Palmer (pre-Family), Julie Driscoll, the Blossom Toes, Meic Stevens, Reg King and many others. A melodic distillation of folk, pop and psychedelia, it is a lost classic making its CD debut here, remastered from the original master tapes and featuring bonus tracks
“The album varies from the meditative and Eastern-tinged to the heavier and more psychedelic, and what could easily have been a good-natured mess is in fact surprisingly taut and complex” – Record Collector

“A mixture of psychedelic rock, jazz, folk, soul and world music with a nice introspective groove and haunting minor-key melodies” – Richie Unterberger, All Music Guide


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *