Tag: 2013

New Family CDs out Oct 28th

Family - HistoryA new 2 CD compilation, History, will be released October 28th, 2013 via Madfish/Snapper. This would be the first ‘best of’ package featuring the newly remastered recordings from original master tapes first released via the limited edition box set, Once Upon A Time. Presented in a deluxe digi-pack and featuring period photos and sleeve notes, History collects tracks from throughout the band’s career to offer a perfect introduction to a fascinating band.

Also, on November 18th, A Song For Me gets reissued both on CD and 180g vinyl in a gatefold sleeve.

Pre-order on Amazon: History, A Song For Me.

Family to play just one festival in 2013

Family will headline this year’s Rockin’ The Park festival at Clumber Park, Worksop, Nottinghamshire, on August 16.

It’s their only festival appearance of 2013 and follows their acclaimed reunion shows in London on February 1 and 2.

They’ll be joined by Asia, Caravan, Snakecharmer and Michael Chapman at the one-day summer event, which is part of a three-day series of individual festivals.

Earlier this year singer Chapman discussed his disappointment that, while Poli Palmer, Rob Townsend and Jim Cregan returned for Family’s first shows in over 40 years, guitarist Charie Whitney declined his invitation.

“I wasn’t really surprised,” Chapman told Uncut. “We’ve all gone in different directions. Charlie’s lived on one of the Greek islands for many years with his partner. Hw was the first person I asked but he said, ‘I’m happy here – I’ve got my music, my sunshine, it just sounds like a lot of hard work for a couple of gigs. But have a good time.’”

Looking forward to the February shows he added: “I just hope we don’t blow it. I don’t think we will, but in the back of your mind you go, ‘I hope we don’t let them down and we don’t let ourselves down.’”

A VIP aftershow party will take place following Family’s Rockin’ The Park set – but only 400 tickets will be available. Find out more.

Meanwhile, Asia have confirmed their first gig with new guitarist Sam Coulson will take place in Milton Keynes ahead of their Sweden Rock set. The 26-year-old, who replaced Steve Howe in January, will take his first bow at The Stables on June 5.

Source: http://www.classicrockmagazine.com/news/family-to-play-just-one-festival-in-2013/

Once Upon A Time – Box Set

February 2013 sees the entire Family catalogue come together for the first time in a massive 14 disc box set released by Snapper in the UK. It includes all the bands recorded work plus 2 discs of unreleased material. Containing all of the band’s albums from the career defining late ’60s albums Music In A Doll’s House (now including the exceptional pre-album psych-pop single ‘Scene Through The Eye Of A Lens’/’Gypsy Woman’) and Family Entertainment through 1970’s A Song For Me and Anyway, 1971’s Old Songs New Songs and Fearless, 1972’s Bandstand and 1973’s It’s Only A Movie. The set is further bolstered with a 1971 concert, Family Live (originally released in 2003), and a 2-CD set of unreleased demos and alt takes Once Upon A Time And More – culled from the Anyway, Fearless, Bandstand and It’s Only A Movie album sessions and remastered from original tapes that had lain undisturbed in Roger Chapman’s loft until 2012. This two disc set captures the hitherto unheard work-in-progress of some of Family’s most popular tracks along with priceless in-studio banter. Finally three singles from 1971 and 1973 are also duplicated in CD single format, all housed in their original artwork. Then there’s that super hard back book penned by Family website master Pete Feenstra and a separate magazine styled recreation of a contemporary music weekly featuring historic articles and reviews. Further still, each box comes with a hand signed certificate of authenticity from Roger Chapman himself.


Once Upon A Time And More is a selection of unreleased demo recordings and alternate takes culled from the Anyway, Fearless, Bandstand and It’s Only A Movie album sessions. Remastered from original tapes that had lain undisturbed in Roger Chapman’s loft until 2012, this two disc set captures the hitherto unheard work-in-progress of some of Family’s most popular tracks along with in-studio banter.

Disc 1:

1. Part Of The Load [backing track]
2. Lives And Ladies [instrumental]
3. Sat’d’y Barfly [instrumental – no horn]
4. Sat’d’y Barfly [instrumental #1 – guide track, no horn studio chatter]
5. Sat’d’y Barfly [instrumental #2 – guide track, more studio chatter]
6. Studio Chat #1
7. Studio Chat #2
8. Spanish Tide [instrumental #1]
9. Spanish Tide [instrumental #2]
10. Spanish Tide [instrumental #3]
11. Spanish Tide [with spoken intro]
12. Spanish Tide [instrumental #4]

Disc 2:

1. Burlesque [instrumental]
2. Bolero Babe [rough mix]
3. My Friend The Sun [instrumental – part vocal]
4. My Friend The Sun [guide track #1 – part vocal]
5. My Friend The Sun [guide track #2 – part vocal]
6. Ready To Go [alternate take #1]
7. Ready To Go [alternate take #2]
8. Ready To Go [alternate take #3]
9. Top Of The Hill [alternate take]
10. Boom Bang [instrumental – part vocal]
11. Suspicion [no brass]
12. Check Out [instrumental]
13. Stop This Car [alternate version of B-Side to Boom Bang]

Disc 1, tracks 1 & 2 from the ANYWAY sessions
Disc 1, Tracks Disc 1 3-12 from the FEARLESS sessions
Tracks Disc 2 1-9 from the BANDSTAND sessions
Tracks Disc 2 10-13 from the IT’S ONLY A MOVIE sessions

Pre-order: https://www.burningshed.com/store/family/

An Evening With Family – Reunion Show 2013

News blast from chappo.com

Legendary British prog-rock giants, FAMILY have announced they will reunite in 2013.

For one night only, Roger Chapman, John ‘Poli’ Palmer, Rob Townsend and Jim Cregan will headline an exclusive reunion performance at O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire on Saturday 2nd February 2013.

Their first show together in over four decades, FAMILY will bring back the nostalgic sights and sounds of folk, psychedelia, acid, jazz fusion and rock’n’roll that made them one of the most pioneering bands of the underground progressive scene in the late ‘60s and early ‘70s.

Having played prestigious London venues including the Royal Albert Hall, The 100 Club and The Marquee, this one-off show is set to be something special, playing songs from a career spanning, seven studio albums.

“This is something that I’ve considered, and been constantly asked about, over the years. It’s always been a question of timing. 2013 marks the 40th year since we did our last show – and we ain’t getting any younger!” – Roger Chapman

Tickets go on sale Friday 7th September 2012 at 9am
from ticketweb.co.uk or 0844 477 2000

Roger Chapman, Poli Palmer, Rob Townsend and Jim Cregan will be joined by Geoff Whitehorn on electric guitar & BVs, John Lingwood on drums & percussion, Gary Twigg on bass, Paul Hirsh on organ, piano & BVs and Nick Payn on sax, harmonica & BVs.